help reducing warp

BEETHEFIRST is a professional, easy to use and portable 3D printer
peet

help reducing warp

Postby peet » 19 Apr 2016, 19:23

I'm new to 3D printing and so far very much enjoying my new BEETHEFIRST.

When printing larger objects howeverI get some warp, which makes it hart putting printed pieces together. In one extreme case, it even pulled the bluetape up from the platform.

So I am asking for hints to reduce the warp. It would be great, if you could give some offical comment, which of the below points - most of which acutally help.
  • Does layer strength have any influence?
  • Does less fill mean less warp?
  • Does using raft help?
  • Does it help to increase the room temperature around the printer?
  • What is the influence of the filament type?
  • Does it help to add some type of glue to the bluetape?
  • Are there any stronger types of bluetape?
  • Any other hints?

Thanks allot, any help is apreciated! :)

Andre_A
BEEVERYCREATIVE

Re: help reducing warp

Postby Andre_A » 21 Apr 2016, 17:16

Hi peet :)

there are a few things you can do to reduce warping:
  1. The thinner the layer, the better will be the adhesion;
  2. The fill doesn't have any influence unless on the first layer, you have to make sure the first layers are always 100% fill;
  3. Using RAFT is a good option but notice that it may be dificult to remove the raft from the object (depending of the type of object and the settings of the raft);
  4. Increasing the room temperature isn't a good idea because you can find extruding issues above 25ºC;
  5. Different types of filament always have different behaviours, that is the reason why you have different printing profiles in the BEESOFT;
  6. You shouldn't use glue in the blue tape but you can find other solutions on the market, like "Buildtak";