Diagnostic leads please?

The versatility of an entry-level 3D printer, engineered to last.
By BEEVERYCREATIVE and Hello 3D Printing World
Ezmyrelda

Diagnostic leads please?

Post by Ezmyrelda » 14 Jul 2017, 21:17

Hello

After a very long time getting the build basically finished and ready to tune I ran into a major hurdle. I have very little experience with electrical beyond plugging a motherboard into a power supply etc.. So when I plugged everything in and turned it on.. nothing happened.. Months went by, we sought out local people that had experience with this sort of thing.

Finally! We found a very kind person willing to lend their time and their expertise.. Long story short.. The switch was bad.. Or.. There is a wiring problem with the switch that necessitated bypassing it.. Anyhow.. After such a long time of worrying about something I thought might be drastic.. I am now at a point I feel I can handle the rest of any issues that might come up.

The first issue I have is

No contrast on the LCD. I believe this is the issue.. However again.. my experience here is limited.. Is there a "blind manual instruction list" that I could use to walk through the menu without the aid of the LCD or could it perhaps be something else?

I had thought that I might need to install some software on the device, but if I twist the dial and click the button in different menu points I get a chirp leading me to believe that it is doing something.. I just can't see it..

The second issue I have.. Though it might not be an issue.. It's just something I don't know the normal behaviour of.

The motherboard fans do not start when powered on.

Do these fans only kick in when they are required to or have I miswired this part of the printer? All other fans work as expected.

Thank you to anybody that can give me some leads on tracking these issues down. I appreciate it greatly.

Geoffrey Borny

Re: Diagnostic leads please?

Post by Geoffrey Borny » 15 Jul 2017, 02:11