Forum under maintenance. Please contact us at customer_service@beeverycreative.com

Problems with serial port interfacing (windows 10)

The versatility of an entry-level 3D printer, engineered to last.
By BEEVERYCREATIVE and Hello 3D Printing World
benigno
Problems with serial port interfacing (windows 10)

Post by benigno » 22 Jul 2016, 11:13

Hello,

I'm a newbie: that's my first printer. I built it last week and at the moment I'm quite happy, I mean: I expected lot of difficulties, my be not in building but in calibration stuff, but all was reasonably smooth instead... Anyhow, at the end I encountered a problem that I can't fix: I did all my calibration/prints/etc. using SD card. When I first time tried to connect the printer to my PC (a DELL running Windows10 and with only USB3 ports) and run "printrun" I encountered problems in connecting to the printer. Apparently the text sent back by the printer firmware was non understood by pronterface.exe... The COM port is seen correctly (apparently). At that point, to check, I tried to connect with Marlin via a Serial Terminal and, effectively, what the firmware sent back were exotic glyph strings... Settings where:
Bits per sec: 115200
data bits: 8
Parity: none
Stop bits: 1
Row control: none

I tried all kind of Bps available in Port Setting, results: different strings but all meaningless :(

Does someone encountered the same problem (and bypassed it) or do you have any suggestion?

I will be grateful for any help you can provide. Cheers, benigno

Hello3dprintingworld

Re: Problems with serial port interfacing (windows 10)

Post by Hello3dprintingworld » 22 Jul 2016, 14:07

When that happens it's the baudrate, it should be the same as set in the configuration.h. where are you changing that values?

benigno

Post by benigno » 23 Jul 2016, 08:03

Hi,
Well:
- First I tried on pronterface.exe settings