Filament jams mid print

The versatility of an entry-level 3D printer, engineered to last.
By BEEVERYCREATIVE and Hello 3D Printing World
adypop92
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 09:46

Filament jams mid print

Post by adypop92 » 01 Nov 2017, 11:00

Hello everyone,

I've been having some issues recently with the hotend. After some time of printing the filament always jams and the extruder starts grinding the filament. Every time I pull it out it looks as if the filament is cooled too much as it gets retracted and swells not allowing it to go back into the hotend. Have a look at the pictures below.

Any ideas?

Image
https://imgur.com/a/MbPkp
https://imgur.com/a/E46YU
Image

MrDoom
Posts: 223
Joined: 01 Apr 2017, 10:01

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by MrDoom » 02 Nov 2017, 10:16

Hello,

Please make sure that your printer is correctly assembled, especially the extruder part, aka the filament feed is aligned to the heatbreak.

Also make sure you try the recommended fixes present here on the forum, the one that helped me the most was the filament filter and adjusting the stepper drivers voltages, you can find them here:
download/file.php?id=35
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=693&p=2696&hilit=voltage#p2696

other than that try contacting customer service as they are very helpful!

Dominofix
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Nov 2017, 13:00

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by Dominofix » 28 Nov 2017, 13:07

I have the same issue just recently and I assume it is indeed the tightness of the filament. When this is the case, does it mean its to tight or to loose?

Thanks in advance!

MrDoom
Posts: 223
Joined: 01 Apr 2017, 10:01

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by MrDoom » 04 Dec 2017, 09:36

Hello Domino,
it can be either of them, depends on the symptoms, if the filament stops being pushed but the gear is still spinning on the extruder it is under tightened, if the motor gear does not spin and instead jumps back and forth with a audible *clack* it is too tight.
Alternatively you can use a 1.3mm drill inserted in the filament path and tighten the side screw until it starts spinning the grooved bearing once you pull the drill in and out, that worked for me with PLA.

Dominofix
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Nov 2017, 13:00

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by Dominofix » 06 Dec 2017, 13:18

Playing with the tension helps a lot indeed. I also ran into another problem just today.
Not sure if its again the tension or not. I load my filament and adjust the tension. I move the extruder couple of 10mm to see if it flows good and if the tension is good.

Once I start printing, the filament just doesn't want to extrude, the gear is spinning but thats just about it. After a while it started printing but it looks like I kind of skips layers (please see photo) and the texture is really bad.

Material: Colorfabb PLA Black
Print setting from Cura:

0,2 layer height
40mm printspeed
1,2mm wall thickness
Everything else was left on the standard settings
I have tried different temperature settings but the result stays the same.
Firmware is new, bought just couple of weeks ago.

I have really no clue what to do and its really doing my head in. Can I find somewhere some saves settings to do test prints in Cura like the having the best possible print and mid quality print?

Image

MrDoom
Posts: 223
Joined: 01 Apr 2017, 10:01

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by MrDoom » 06 Dec 2017, 15:27

Hello Dominofix,

If the gear is still spinning and doens't start jumping and making a "click click" noise, you need to tighten the screw a little more.
Also you can follow the advices present on the new Prusa Fixes manual, I've had most of them for a while but it's good to know it is now available here on the forum at:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=784

Specially the filament filter with oil and the stepper driver voltage helped me a lot on PLA.
Also make sure you have the latest firmware as it has a better extruder calibration and yields better prints :)

Dominofix
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Nov 2017, 13:00

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by Dominofix » 06 Dec 2017, 15:32

MrDoom wrote:Hello Dominofix,

If the gear is still spinning and doens't start jumping and making a "click click" noise, you need to tighten the screw a little more.
Also you can follow the advices present on the new Prusa Fixes manual, I've had most of them for a while but it's good to know it is now available here on the forum at:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=784

Specially the filament filter with oil and the stepper driver voltage helped me a lot on PLA.
Also make sure you have the latest firmware as it has a better extruder calibration and yields better prints :)
Ill have a look at it and try that out! The firmware is up to date.
I will post the findings on it!

Dominofix
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Nov 2017, 13:00

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by Dominofix » 07 Dec 2017, 12:47

Unfortunately nothing helped. It really strange that when I do a manual extrusion it all goes perfect but when it starts for the actual print barely anything goes out and it starts clogging up inside.

When I take the filament out, this is how it looks.

Image
image bbcode

MrDoom
Posts: 223
Joined: 01 Apr 2017, 10:01

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by MrDoom » 07 Dec 2017, 15:26

That is extremely weird... For me it worked flawlessly after applying the fixes on that document.
Make sure you follow each and every one of those, except he one of the stability feet, those are good but I did no notice much improvement.
Especially the one where you add a spacer between the heatbreak and the extruder heatsink was very important as it allowed me to add much more tension to the filament.

You should also try another filament from a diferent brand like Hatchbox PLA it might just be a problem with your PLA roll, too much moisture or bad filament formulation, I have tried a chinese brand that did not even extrude more than a few seconds.

The filament extraction looks normal, mine does the same, it expands near the nozzle because of the interface between the heatbreak and the nozzle.

Dominofix
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Nov 2017, 13:00

Re: Filament jams mid print

Post by Dominofix » 08 Dec 2017, 09:05

I have the issue with all types of filament. Moving the extruder from control panel and the filament goes really good and smoothly.
But then when it needs to start printing it just doesn't go. I even put all the tension of and tried pushing it trough by hand, even that doesn't go. Can it be a bug that the print core/nozzle stops heating? The control panel shows 200C.

I'm trying now to upgrade the firmware following the latest improvement file. But I get the following error when trying to upload Marlin via Arduino 1.6.8

Error compiling for board Arduino/genuino or Mega 2560

Arduino: 1.6.8 (Mac OS X), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)"

failed MSpanList_Insert 0x30b000 0x4dd06b0c625 0x0
fatal error: MSpanList_Insert

runtime stack:
runtime.throw(0x2ac50b)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/panic.go:491 +0xad fp=0x7ffeefbff490 sp=0x7ffeefbff460
runtime.MSpanList_Insert(0x2ca028, 0x30b000)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mheap.c:692 +0x8f fp=0x7ffeefbff4b8 sp=0x7ffeefbff490
MHeap_FreeSpanLocked(0x2c6c20, 0x30b000, 0x100)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mheap.c:583 +0x163 fp=0x7ffeefbff4f8 sp=0x7ffeefbff4b8
MHeap_Grow(0x2c6c20, 0x8, 0x0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mheap.c:420 +0x1a8 fp=0x7ffeefbff538 sp=0x7ffeefbff4f8
MHeap_AllocSpanLocked(0x2c6c20, 0x1, 0x0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mheap.c:298 +0x365 fp=0x7ffeefbff578 sp=0x7ffeefbff538
mheap_alloc(0x2c6c20, 0x1, 0x12, 0x0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mheap.c:190 +0x121 fp=0x7ffeefbff5a0 sp=0x7ffeefbff578
runtime.MHeap_Alloc(0x2c6c20, 0x1, 0x10000000012, 0x10359)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mheap.c:240 +0x66 fp=0x7ffeefbff5d8 sp=0x7ffeefbff5a0
MCentral_Grow(0x2ce998, 0x0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mcentral.c:197 +0x8b fp=0x7ffeefbff640 sp=0x7ffeefbff5d8
runtime.MCentral_CacheSpan(0x2ce998, 0x0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mcentral.c:85 +0x167 fp=0x7ffeefbff678 sp=0x7ffeefbff640
runtime.MCache_Refill(0x307000, 0x12, 0x0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/mcache.c:90 +0xa0 fp=0x7ffeefbff6a0 sp=0x7ffeefbff678
runtime.mcacheRefill_m()
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/malloc.c:368 +0x57 fp=0x7ffeefbff6c0 sp=0x7ffeefbff6a0
runtime.onM(0x223be8)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/asm_amd64.s:273 +0x9a fp=0x7ffeefbff6c8 sp=0x7ffeefbff6c0
runtime.mallocgc(0x120, 0x1bf260, 0x0, 0x0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/malloc.go:178 +0x849 fp=0x7ffeefbff778 sp=0x7ffeefbff6c8
runtime.newobject(0x1bf260, 0x307000)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/malloc.go:353 +0x49 fp=0x7ffeefbff7a0 sp=0x7ffeefbff778
runtime.newG(0x27eea)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/proc.go:233 +0x2a fp=0x7ffeefbff7b8 sp=0x7ffeefbff7a0
allocg(0x2b95e0)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/proc.c:925 +0x1f fp=0x7ffeefbff7c8 sp=0x7ffeefbff7b8
runtime.malg(0x8000, 0x2b9680)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/proc.c:2106 +0x1f fp=0x7ffeefbff7f8 sp=0x7ffeefbff7c8
runtime.mpreinit(0x2b9a40)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/os_darwin.c:137 +0x27 fp=0x7ffeefbff810 sp=0x7ffeefbff7f8
mcommoninit(0x2b9a40)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/proc.c:201 +0xc9 fp=0x7ffeefbff838 sp=0x7ffeefbff810
runtime.schedinit()
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/proc.c:138 +0x55 fp=0x7ffeefbff860 sp=0x7ffeefbff838
runtime.rt0_go(0x7ffeefbff890, 0x14, 0x7ffeefbff890, 0x0, 0x14, 0x7ffeefbffa40, 0x7ffeefbffa86, 0x7ffeefbffa92, 0x7ffeefbffaa2, 0x7ffeefbffaac, ...)
/usr/local/go/src/runtime/asm_amd64.s:95 +0x116 fp=0x7ffeefbff868 sp=0x7ffeefbff860
arduino-builder returned 2

Error compiling for board Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560.

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.

Post Reply